Happy Dancing

I’ve been back at La Selva for a little more than a week now, getting settled in, finding office space, etc.  And mostly I’ve figured out all that normal moving in stuff.

I’ve also wandered around a bit to look for webs, and discovered there aren’t many.  I’ve recorded how many sites that normally have spiders have no spiders now, and all sorts of details about the places with no spiders. And looked for other spiders in places with no spiders, and in general notices how there weren’t all that many spiders.   Which is kind of interesting, maybe.

But today I saw something super-duper cool.  I saw multiple klepto spiders on a web of their own.  Hanging out, no host to be seen, and on a web that is likely a web they built themselves.  Neato!  I can’t even tell you how excited I was to see this.  Of course, I actually can tell you, but really even with a ton of explanation and over enthusiasm on my part, its pretty unlikely that anyone else will be nearly as excited about this as I am.  I totally realize that in the grand scheme of things, this just isn’t exciting news.  I saw spiders on a web. Whoot (or the more obvious answer from the general population: Did you kill them?)!

The work I do is pretty cool.  Generally I don’t have much problem talking to people about it, and most people think its kind of awesome, even if they aren’t really into science or spiders or whatever.

So many jobs have these little moment of triumph that when they happen, it feels as though you should get up and do a happy dance.

However, these are also the times when NO ONE GETS IT! So, my dear (five) readers. . .  tell me about a time when you were reallllllly excited about something that you did/found/accomplished and I will be inappropriately excited for you.  I promise, you will be blown away by how ridiculously, stupidly excited I am for you and your stupid thing that no one cares about.

Until then, I’m going to keep dancing my own little happy dance on my own in the forest.

Hasta luego!

~ by Meghan on December 12, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
